Acacia ampliceps

Acacia ampliceps Maslin
Flora ID 8·Fabaceae·Acacia

Flora account

Overview

Acacia ampliceps occurs along salt-lake margins and saline grasslands in northern Australia. Seedling experiments show that growth and nodulation under salinity depend on the rhizobial strain. The experiments differ in seed source and exposure period. [S1, S2, S3, S4, S7]

Names and classification

Acacia ampliceps Maslin is documented as a wild shrub or small tree around salt lakes, springs, and saline grasslands in northern Australia. Salinity trials used seed supplied from Thailand or other experimental sources; those materials must not be conflated with the Australian field populations. [S1, S2, S8]

Morphology and identification

A shrub or small tree of northern Australia with narrow, often pendulous phyllodes. Its white to cream flower heads are spherical, and the pods are flattened. Identification should consider phyllode shape, flower-head colour, and pods together. Field records from saline habitats do not describe the full range of morphological variation. [S1, S2, S11]

Distribution, habitat and phenology

Surveys at Mandora Marsh/Walyarta in Western Australia recorded the species in inland salt-lake flats and spring-margin saline shrublands, alongside Tecticornia, Frankenia, and Sporobolus. A Ramsar information sheet for Eighty-mile Beach also records salt wattle at the edge of saline grassland. Separate studies concern planting at saline sites or experimentally stressed seedlings. [S1, S2, S8]

The available sources do not provide reliable flowering or fruiting dates that can be compared across regions; records from one locality or horticultural material do not establish species-wide phenology. [S8]

Salinity in natural habitats

Surveys at salt-lake margins, spring margins, and saline grasslands in Australia recorded A. ampliceps together with halophytic vegetation, providing field evidence for those regions. Seedling experiments using seed from elsewhere cannot be directly assigned to every field population. [S1, S2]

Salinity studies

Zou et al. (1995) inoculated Australian Tree Seed Centre provenance S15764 seedlings with salt-tolerant Rhizobium PMA63/1 or salt-sensitive Bradyrhizobium PMA37 and exposed them to 0, 100, and 200 mM NaCl in sterilized white silica sand. Salt treatment began in week 6 after sowing, rising by 25 mM d−1 to 100 mM and then by 50 mM d−1 to 200 mM. Experiment 1 harvested at weeks 4, 6, 8, 10, and 12 after sowing; Experiment 2 continued to week 14, with harvests at weeks 12 and 14. At 200 mM, PMA63/1-inoculated plants were less affected; new nodules were still observed after four and six weeks of exposure, and nodule number fell by 28%, compared with 74% for PMA37. The study also measured nodules, root and shoot dry mass, plant nitrogen, and nitrogenase activity; conclusions apply to this provenance–strain combination. [S4]

Seed-derived seedlings 25 ± 2 cm tall from Thailand were grown in greenhouse soil-filled bags and exposed to 0, 200, 400, or 600 mM NaCl in the soil solution for nine days. The study classified 200 mM as mild stress and 400–600 mM as high to extreme stress, and measured growth, ion and osmotic responses, and photosynthetic traits. The 600 mM result reflects acute severe stress and does not establish a sustained-growth duration. [S3]

The Australian salt-sensitivity database links two TSS equivalents to biomass reductions of 39% and 62%. Its 14-week endpoint may correspond to Experiment 2 in the full Zou et al. paper; that experiment continued through week 14 and harvested at weeks 12 and 14 after sowing, while the abstract summarizes observations only through week 12. The database row does not identify the specific treatment for its endpoint or give a conversion from TSS equivalents to the paper’s NaCl doses. [S6]

Three-week-old seedlings from the Peshawar Forest Institute/NIAB were grown in half-strength Hoagland solution. Salting began one week after transplanting and reached target levels over two days; shoot and root fresh mass, dry mass, and length were measured eight weeks after transplanting. Table 1 reports shoot/root dry mass of 0.63/0.28, 0.49/0.22, and 0.24/0.12 g plant⁻¹ at 100, 200, and 300 mM NaCl, respectively. Terminal dry mass remained nonzero at 200 mM, but initial dry mass was not measured. Exposure at the target concentration was about seven weeks by the schedule; 400 mM is mentioned only for survival, without displayed data. [S7]

Reported mechanisms and ecological adaptations

In a seedling experiment, responses differed between plants inoculated with salt-tolerant and salt-sensitive rhizobial strains. At 200 mM, growth, nodule number, and nitrogen status were less affected in the salt-tolerant strain treatment. This result applies to a particular seedling–symbiont combination, not all wild populations. [S1, S2, S4]

Conclusions and evidence gaps

In the full Zou et al. paper, Experiment 2 continued through week 14 and included harvests at weeks 12 and 14 after sowing; the abstract summarizes observations only through week 12. The Australian database’s 14-week endpoint may correspond to Experiment 2, but the row does not identify its specific treatment or provide a conversion from TSS to NaCl dose. Other salinity studies use different provenances, media and endpoints and cannot be combined into a single threshold. [S1, S2, S3, S4, S6, S7]

Salinity research · Evidence records

4

Materials, original units, exposure durations and limitations are retained. These records do not form a single tolerance threshold.

M01

Seedling NaCl–rhizobium symbiosis experiment

[S4]
Material
Australian Tree Seed Centre provenance S15764 seedlings inoculated with Rhizobium PMA63/1 or Bradyrhizobium PMA37
Salinity metric
NaCl
Treatment / value and unit
0, 100, and 200 mM NaCl
Medium and exposure
Pots of sterilized white silica sand, watered daily to drainage with basal nutrient solution. Salinity began in week 6 after sowing and rose by 25 mM d−1 to 100 mM, then by 50 mM d−1 to 200 mM.
Life stage
Seedling growth and root-nodule symbiosis
Duration
Experiment 1 harvested at weeks 4, 6, 8, 10 and 12 after sowing; Experiment 2 at weeks 12 and 14. Salt treatment began in week 6.
Measured endpoint
Nodule number, nodule/root/shoot dry mass, plant nitrogen and nitrogenase activity
Result
At 200 mM, PMA63/1-inoculated seedlings were less affected; new nodules were still observed after four and six weeks of exposure, and nodule number declined by 28% versus 74% with PMA37.
Scope and limitations
Conclusions apply to the specific seedling–symbiont combinations using provenance S15764, not to all wild populations.
M02

Nine-day seedling physiology experiment under NaCl soil-solution exposure

[S3]
Material
Seed-raised seedlings 25 ± 2 cm tall; seed supplied by Thailand's Land Development Department, Ministry of Agriculture and Cooperatives
Salinity metric
NaCl
Treatment / value and unit
0, 200, 400, and 600 mM NaCl (0 mM control)
Medium and exposure
Greenhouse seedlings in soil-filled plastic bags; concentrations were set in the soil solution
Life stage
Seedling
Duration
9 days
Measured endpoint
Growth traits; Na, K, and Ca; proline and soluble sugars; photosynthetic pigments, chlorophyll fluorescence, net photosynthesis, stomatal conductance, and transpiration
Result
The paper classifies 200 mM as mild stress and 400–600 mM as high to extreme stress; seedlings at 600 mM were measured after nine days, making this a short-term severe-stress result.
Scope and limitations
The treatment lasted nine days, with concentrations set in soil solution; the study does not report a sustained growth period at these levels.
M03

Australian salt-sensitivity database record of biomass reduction

[S6]
Material
Six-week-old seedlings in the database record, linked to Zou et al. (1995), reference 109
Salinity metric
Not specified; database reports TSS equivalents
Treatment / value and unit
5845 and 11700 mg/L (database-described TSS equivalents)
Medium and exposure
AUSALT-1272 does not specify the treatment medium or measurement system. Its reference 109 points to Zou et al., but the mapping of the database values to a specific experiment in that paper remains uncertain.
Life stage
Seedling
Duration
The database lists a 14-week endpoint. The full Zou et al. paper states that Experiment 1 harvested at weeks 4, 6, 8, 10, and 12 after sowing, while repeat Experiment 2 continued to week 14 and harvested at weeks 12 and 14; the database row does not identify the specific treatment for its endpoint.
Measured endpoint
Biomass decline
Result
The database lists biomass reductions of 39% and 62% at 5,845 and 11,700 mg/L TSS equivalents, respectively; the row does not map these TSS equivalents to NaCl doses in the Zou et al. paper.
Scope and limitations
AUSALT-1272 expresses the values as TSS equivalents in mg/L; the catalogue row does not specify treatment medium or conversion method. The full paper shows that Experiment 2 continued to week 14, but the row does not map that endpoint to a specific treatment or convert TSS equivalents to the 0, 100, and 200 mM NaCl treatments.
M04

Eight-week NaCl seedling growth trial in half-strength Hoagland hydroponics

[S7]
Material
Three-week-old A. ampliceps seedlings from seed supplied by the Peshawar Forest Institute/NIAB; not wild saline-site material
Salinity metric
NaCl
Treatment / value and unit
100, 200, and 300 mM NaCl
Medium and exposure
Half-strength Hoagland nutrient solution in 25-L tanks, replaced weekly
Life stage
Seedling growth
Duration
Harvest eight weeks after transplanting; salt addition started one week after transplanting and increased to target over two days, leaving about seven weeks at target according to the methods sequence
Measured endpoint
Harvest shoot and root fresh and dry mass and lengths, measured as terminal growth traits
Result
Table 1 reports shoot/root dry mass of 0.63/0.28 g plant⁻¹ at 100 mM, 0.49/0.22 g at 200 mM, and 0.24/0.12 g at 300 mM. The 200 mM group had nonzero terminal dry mass, but the authors did not report initial dry mass. The 400 mM treatment is mentioned only for survival, without displayed data, and is not included as a growth measurement.
Scope and limitations
The authors did not report initial dry mass. Interpretation uses the full eight-week seedling trial, weekly replacement of target nutrient solution, and terminal growth measures in treatment and control groups. About seven weeks at the target concentration is inferred from the schedule; this does not establish full-life-cycle tolerance or field root-zone salinity.

Linked database records

Database indexing is presented separately from original research evidence.

eHALOPH 11997

The species-level eHALOPH record lists maximum values of 300 mM, 600 mM, and 60.9 dS/m, with optimum fields of 0 and 200 mM. Its notes link 600 mM to Theerawitaya et al. (2015), mention Abbas (2013), and cite references 6398/6776/6462 and others. The 600 mM value corresponds to a nine-day seedling exposure; Zou et al. (1995) report sustained seedling responses at 200 mM. The source conditions for the other values remain unclear, and distinct dS/m measurement systems cannot be combined directly with NaCl concentrations. The 600 mM value is an acute experimental dose, without an established sustained-growth response at that concentration. [S5, S9, S3, S7]

australian_salt_sensitivity AUSALT-1272

The Australian salt-sensitivity database species-level record lists six-week-old seedlings, 39% biomass reduction at 5,845 mg/L, 62% at 11,700 mg/L and a 14-week endpoint; its data domain includes Australian aquatic/freshwater and salt-lake/estuary records. The method file expresses salinity as TSS equivalents, and reference no. 109 points to Zou, Dart & Marcar (1995). Experiment 2 in that paper continued to week 14; the database row does not map its 14-week endpoint to a specific treatment or provide a conversion from TSS equivalents to NaCl doses, so this is a secondary transcription in the same evidence chain, not independent evidence. [S6]

FloraVeg.EU baseline row 8

The FloraVeg.EU name query returned an unmatched candidate and no saline or brackish EUNIS associations. This European database coverage gap does not override Australian field records. [S10]

Literature & sources

11

Source IDs are local to this species and content version.

S1Primary field study

Department of Parks and Wildlife. 2015. Mandora Marsh / Walyarta Flora and Floristic Vegetation Survey

View original source
S2authoritative_flora

Department of Conservation and Land Management. 2003. Information Sheet on Ramsar Wetlands: Eighty-mile Beach, Western Australia

View original source
S3Primary experimental study

Theerawitaya et al. 2015. Physio-biochemical and morphological characters of halophyte legume shrub, Acacia ampliceps seedlings in response to salt stress under greenhouse. Frontiers in Plant Science 6:630. DOI:10.3389/fpls.2015.00630

View original source
S4Primary experimental study

Zou, Dart & Marcar. 1995. Interaction of salinity and rhizobial strain on growth and N2-fixation by Acacia ampliceps. Soil Biology and Biochemistry 27(4–5):409–413. DOI:10.1016/0038-0717(95)98611-Q

View original source
S5Primary field study

Shirazi et al. 2006. Growth performance and nutrient contents of some salt tolerant multipurpose tree species growing under saline environment

View original source
S6Database

Australian salt sensitivity database, record AUSALT-1272; linked reference 109: Zou N., Dart P.J. & Marcar N.E. (1995), “Interaction of salinity and rhizobial strain on growth and N2-fixation by Acacia ampliceps”, Soil Biology and Biochemistry 27(4–5):409–413. DOI:10.1016/0038-0717(95)98611-Q.

View original source
S7Primary experimental study

Abbas, G., Saqib, M., Akhtar, J. & Basra, S.M.A. (2013). Salinity tolerance potential of two Acacia species at early seedling stage. Pakistan Journal of Agricultural Sciences 50(4):683–688.

View original source
S8taxonomic_authority

Plants of the World Online (POWO), Kew Science. Acacia ampliceps Maslin.

View original source
S11authoritative_flora

Government of Australia. Flora of Australia, WATTLE: Acacia ampliceps Maslin species factsheet (derived from Flora of Australia volumes 11A, 11B and 12).

View original source